A Sweet Idea

Generally speaking, if you can think of ways to make things better, you are possibly on to the next great big idea. Often too much thought is put into coming up with an idea, let’s say, to expand a small business.  Obviously economics is a big factor because the quicker a small business owner comes up with an idea and gets it assessed and implemented, the better off financially the business will become.  But sometimes there is just too much pressure put on coming up with the next great idea, and that may not be really necessary.  Time IS of the essence, but a calm head and open mind and heart, makes it easier to receive an idea.  

I have a friend who owns a bakery with a gift for great designs in suburban Atlanta.  One big seller is designer cupcakes, so I am always measuring up cupcakes that I may encounter when I am traveling or just trying different desserts while dining out.  Because I would really love to see my friend’s business succeed, I think my brain may be tuned to anything having to do with cupcakes.  So when I was in hair salon recently and my stylist and another customer began talking about a cupcake truck that used to round their neighborhood up north, I became intrigued by the idea and couldn’t shake it because I thought it such a clever and creative concept.  They kept referring to it as a play on the Mr. Softee ice cream truck and all Icould do was visualize myself as a young girl waiting for the truck to pull over in front of my house.  The next day I told my friend about it and suggested she consider it as an entry in her idea book for when she decides to expand her business. 

Even if my friend doesn’t act on this particular idea, just by the act of receiving it or writing it down, she may be inspired with a different idea. After all, all ideas are just springboards of ideas already in existence to improve upon or make something better or more useful.

Leave a Reply

