Free Money

I love contests and financial incentives Imageaimed towards entrepreneurs and small business owners.  Because I am an idea advocate, it is exciting to find and share opportunities with others who may need some financial support to launch a new business or product. After all, everyone needs a little help now and then, and if you are serious about your idea, well, then, why not put forth the effort and try your luck.  You just never know.  Besides money, there is often media recognition and PR exposure that you may not have otherwise had.  Think Shark Tank but not televised.

Several years ago, I attended an elevator pitch contest during the Black Enterprise Magazine Entrepreneurs Conference. I was very impressed with the originality of the ideas and how the participants sold their ideas in like 30 seconds. It was also very inspiring to see the level of sincere support being offered by the judges and audience.  I always wondered what happened to the $10,000 grand prize winner, a young man named Brandon with a retail web design business in a mall.  Fast forward to 2013 and I was attending a business meeting, and the young man who had won the contest was there doing a presentation.  I knew I recognized him from somewhere but wasn’t quite sure. I was waiting for him to reference the contest but he didn’t. I approached him and his wife to inquire and he couldn’t believe that I remembered him and the event.  He had done such an impressive job that I had no choice but to remember him. I was very happy to see that his career was doing well and his business launched into opportunities greater than he probably expected.

I truly believe that divine blessings come in unexpected and nontraditional, outside-of-the-box ways.  So from time to time, I will share opportunities that I hope will turn into life-changing moments for entrepreneurs and small business owners.  In return, I hope you put forth the effort to at least consider and try.

To get you started, here are a few to consider:

The Wells Fargo Works Project. Tell your story for a chance to win $25,000 plus expert small business advice.  Here’s what you will need:  Download the contest guidelines; create a 2.5 minute video or write a 600 word essay; and complete the entry form. Hurry!!!! The contest ends June 30, 2014.

Entrepreneur of 2014 (presented by The UPS Store).  Entries due by June 17, 2014, but first check to see if you qualify by answering few quick questions.

Good luck to you! But most importantly, best wishes for your success…

Leave a Reply

